Calton and Sheridan Top Podiums at Grueling Pow Mow Race

Calton and Sheridan Top Podiums at Grueling Pow Mow Race

Eden, UTAH—Meghan Sheridan (Bingham Cyclery Peak Fasteners) won the Elite Women’s division while Zach Calton (Spry Cycles/Legacy Properties West) took first in the Elite Men’s category at the Intermountain Cup’s series conclusion at Powder Mountain on August 25.

The finale of the Intermountain Cup series took place just east of the Ogden Valley at Powder Mountain. This year’s elite division competitors faced two laps with a total of 35 miles and 4,600′ of elevation gain. The course included some of the resort’s pristine new mountain bike trails, allowing participants to be the first to experience the terrain.

“All you need to know is that Meghan Sheridan left everybody else in the dust on the first climb,” said Anne Perry (Bingham Cyclery Peak Fasteners) who placed second in Elite women’s.

Sheridan credits her consistent lead to the six-day Breck Epic race in Colorado, where she placed third in her division just two weeks ago. She believes that the 40-mile per day riding there as well as her acclimation to riding in Park City altitude helped keep up her pace and stamina throughout the race. “I went my own pace and kept hammering, just kept pushing through and tried to ride really smart,” she said. “The course was really fun, no sustained climbs or descents, just continuing to roll the whole time. I had a great time.” 

In the elite men’s category, Zach Calton and Anders Johnson (Whole Athlete p/b DNA) stayed in fierce competition for the top of the podium throughout the majority of the race. Calton said, “I got away with about two miles to go. I had tried to hit every single fire road as fast as I could earlier in the lap and I think that wore both of us out pretty bad by the end.” This year, Zach Calton has also placed first in the Cactus Hugger and Rage at Snowbird I-Cup races.

The high school divisions also brought out some serious challengers for the Intermountain Cup’s final race of the season, with the first five varsity boys ending with times in the 1 hour 19 minutes range. The varsity races consisted of one 17 mile lap with 2,300′ of elevation. Ultimately, Henry Larson (Rouleur Devo p/b DNA) beat out Jackson Nelson by less than one second in an intense sprint to the finish line. Jack Youngblood (Maybird Reyes-Psych) followed for third about 15 seconds after that.

In the Varsity Girls category, Natalie Quinn (ImpactDevo p/b Bountiful Bicycle) took the win and was followed by Madeline Tanner (Bountiful Bicycle Racing p/b Nate Wade Subaru) in second a few minutes after, with Megan Kitchens (Maybird Reyes-Psych) placing third.

About Intermountain Cup

Founded in 1991, the Intermountain Cup consists of X-country and endurance MTB races throughout Utah. With seven X-country races of approximately 25 miles and one endurance races of approximately 50 miles, the series covers some of the most pristine and difficult rides in the state.


Final Race Results

Get Intermountain Cup News, Updates and Results Subscribe